Avg. Amount Awarded
January 20 2025
Application Deadline
Awarded last year
Apply Now
Harry S. Truman Book Award


The Harry S. Truman Book Award is presented biennially by the Truman Library Institute. Established in 1963, the Harry S. Truman Book Award recognizes the best book published within a two-year period dealing primarily and substantially with some aspect of the history of the United States between April 12, 1945 and January 20, 1953, or with the life or career of Harry S. Truman. Books written about Harry S. Truman or the period of his presidency and published between January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2023 are eligible for the 2024 Harry S. Truman Book Award. Please contact Lisa Sullivan, the Book Award Administrator for more information about the award and the application process.

Eligibility Requirements

How to Apply

Contact Lisa Sullivan
CFO/CAO, Truman Library Institute
Tel: 816-400-1216
Fax: 816-400-1213 Address 5151 Troost Avenue
Suite 300
Kansas City, MO 64110