Avg. Amount Awarded
May 31 2021
Application Deadline
Awarded last year
Apply Now
What you'll need:
  • Checkmark Application Form
  • Checkmark Essay
Apply Now
Helen W. Nies Memorial Scholarship


An award of $10,000 would be given in the memory of Helen W. Nies, former Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Special considerations for the Helen W. Nies award include: (a) encouraging the participation of women lawyers in the legal profession, (b) recognizing the contributions of women lawyers to society in general, (c) highlighting academic excellence, (d) addressing need, and (e) advancing the interest of women law students in intellectual property. Only one Helen W. Nies Memorial Scholarship is awarded each year. If awarded, the award is presented at the AssociationÔÇÖs annual dinner in November.

Amount Details

Low Amount Awarded
Total Amount Awarded

Eligibility Requirements

  • CheckmarkMust be a graduate student
  • CheckmarkMust attend a university
  • CheckmarkRestricted to female students
  • CheckmarkMust not be attending high school currently
  • CheckmarkMust study full-time
  • CheckmarkRestricted to students studying Law/Legal Services

How to Apply

What you'll need:

  • Checkmark Application Form
  • Checkmark Essay
Contact Richard McNeely
Co-Chair, FCBA Scholarship Committee
Tel: 202-466-3923
Fax: 202-833-1061 Address 1620 I Street, NW, Suite 801
Washington, DC 20006