Each state has differing requirements for the ACT®, and this article lists all those states requiring the ACT for high schoolers.

States Requiring the ACT (as of 2017):

  • Alabama
  • Hawaii
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

There is a high likelihood that in the near future, more states will begin to adopt the ACT as a statewide college admission test. It levels the playing field and exposes more high school students to the opportunity of a college education. It provides colleges with similar information on all students for admission decisions.